veriditas

The Gates of the Benedictine Abbey of St. Hildegard, Rudesheim/Bingen, May 2011

Hildegard von Bingen, a German Abbess, composer, herbalist and mystic 1098-1179, wrote about the concept of ‘Veriditas’ in her book “Physica.”

She wrote in the middle High German colloquial and so the term, which she herself created, has been assigned several translations or meanings. A hybrid of the Latin word for truth, Veritas, and the Latin word for green, Viridis, Veriditas can be thought of as ‘greenness’ a spiritual term used to describe her vision of the green power of Nature and the unity of all creation.

I think about the concept of Veriditas a lot while I am doing my aromatic work. And if I’m honest, I think my own personal belief in the concept/theme of Veriditas, in the magic, purity and the sheer power of Nature, is the main reason I am so devoted to working strictly as a botanical perfumer, i.e. solely with plants and plant-based essential oils, today.

Hildegard of Bingen has inspired my work since I first wrote a graduate research paper on her in 1998. It meant a lot to me to be able to make a pilgrimage to Bingen last year with my friend Brandi, just to light a candle and pay homage to her life and work.

Kirsten at the Abbey of St. Hildegard, Rudesheim/Bingen, Germany. 2011.

Below is my botanical perfume, named “Veriditas.” It is one of the four Arabesque Aromas perfumes I originally designed in 2006/7 with the theme of emotional well-being in mind.          It is warm, earthy, and comforting, with botanicals and essential oils of Cedarwood, Vanilla and Vetiver Root.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/46846909/veriditas-a-natural-perfume-oil