“The Holly, Moss and Ivy” takes it name from the flora surrounding my exciting, fragrant new home. It is the first botanical perfume I created since my back-to-nature move to a little log cabin in northern California. My new home is a real respite after spending so many years in Los Angeles…

I think the first time I became clearly aware that I needed to move closer to nature happened when I joined the Folk Reveries Etsy team.  I thought their team description was so inspiring and beautiful, though it also made my heart ache a little, realizing that while Some of it was true for me – it wasn’t Entirely true for me. And I wanted it to be!

“Welcome to folk reveries! Here are those who want to live among the woods

beneath the stars,

who believe and are inspired by folktales and dreams, the natural world

and the magic that belongs to it,

fauna and flora with mysteries and stories to be found.”

It’s been a somewhat challenging year. But finally, here I am. A botanical perfumer who can honestly say she lives in the woods, beneath the stars!

It never gets old, pulling into my forest-y driveway at nighttime and just looking up, at the stars. The absolutely endless stars…

Which brings me to my next perfume, inspired by the Donovan song, The Seller of Stars.

I am not sure who this magical Seller of Stars is, exactly, but I suspect he does a lot of work here in the skies of Nevada County, California!

My new midwinter botanical perfume The Star Seller smells predominately of Jasmine. I chose a star-shaped flower for a star-inspired theme.

The Star Seller also contains Sandalwood and a trace of Nutmeg, giving it a cozy, winter-y skies, woodsmoke undertone. I was particularly inspired by these beautiful, ethereal lyrics.

“Wings he weaves for the fairies,
Gold of the sun you can buy
And silver flowers of frost and dew,
Rainbows out of the sky.
And delicate morning mist he sells
And pretty new songs for whispering shells.”

~Donovan, lyrics from The Seller of Stars